Forum

Importing from texgen to abaqus

1. Torkan Shafighfard (Student)

Hello,

I have a problem while importing a model from TexGen to the Abaqus. Actually, I imported the model and it was orphan mesh. Then I changed it from geometry to mesh and I can edit my model, e.g. adding a hole to the plate. First of all, does this make any problem in post-processing? I mean does it affect the results? The problem is that the abaqus imports the model as a whole (composite plate) and i cannot see the warp and weft yarns. I hope I can clarify it that you can understand what I mean. the attached is what abaqus shows me. However, I want the warp and weft model. Actually, I am new in this field and I even don't know whether we really need it or not or it is just for figure reason. Also, after giving the material properties in texgen, we don't need to define any properties in abaqus, right?

Does anybody have any idea?

Thanks

1.PNG

2. Torkan Shafighfard (Student)

I have one more question. Would you please help me with that too?

What is the difference between 4sc and texgen itself? Is there any difference when importing to the abaqus or the 4sc just can give us more info such as stiffness matrix? Finally, as far as I get the 4sc is not an open source software and we can use just for 30 days, right? And with the cloud version we can just use it online and cannot save it in our desktop?

P.S. The only difference between 4sc and TexGen is that the first one gives the properties, right? there is no difference between models?

3. Xin Liu

Texgen can generate geometry and mesh of textile composites. It can also generate the inp file for Abaqus. You can view the warp and weft yarns by displaying the corresponding set (Please check the abaqus document for details). I am not sure if you can edit the model (e.g., add a hole) with orphan mesh. You can also ask this question on the texgen forum as this one is more related to the general texgen question.